A breakdown of the Board of Governors.

The Board of Governors is the highest governing body that exists at UBC. The Board is given authority by The University Act, which stipulates that the Board is responsible for the “management, administration, and control of the property, revenue, business, and affairs of the University.” In addition to overseeing these responsibilities, the Board of Governors oversees and directs all administrative and academic duties. This means that the Board of Governors is in charge of establishing policies and constitutions as well as being responsible for the student code of conduct.

However, the Board of Governors should not be confused with the UBCO Senate, as they are two different governing bodies. According to the UBCSUO website, the UBCO Senate is the academic governing body of the University. As the academic governing body, the Senate is responsible for “admissions, course and program curriculum, granting of degrees, academic policies, examinations, and appeals of standing and student discipline.” Every year students are elected as voting members to serve of the UBCO Senate Committee.

While the majority of Senate members are elected, many of the Board of Governors members are appointed, however, there are still elected positions. There are 21 Board members. On the Board, there is the Chancellor; the President; eleven people who are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor (who may remove any of these eleven at any time); three faculty members, who are elected by faculty, two from UBC Vancouver and one from UBC Okanagan; three full time students, who are elected by students, two from UBC Vancouver and one from UBC Okanagan (UBCO’s current Board representative is Shola Fashanu); two employees of the University who are elected but not faculty members, one from UBC Okanagan and two from UBC Vancouver. Those who serve on the Board are volunteers and do not get remuneration.